Monday, October 3

Columbus Accepting Nominations for the 2022 Shellabarger Illuminator Award

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The City of Columbus is accepting nominations for the Shellabarger Illuminator Award to be presented at the annual City Hall Pride Illumination ceremony on Wednesday, June 1.

The Shellabarger Illuminator Award recognizes an individual within the Columbus community who has demonstrated outstanding initiative to promote LGBTQ+ rights and, in doing so, has created a more inclusive Columbus.

The award is named for Steve Shellabarger, a Columbus resident who has been integral to so much of the LGBTQ+ activism that has taken place in the city over the years.

“Almost every LGBTQ+ organization in Columbus has been touched in some way by longtime Columbus resident and activist Steve Shellabarger,” Mayor Andrew J. Ginther said in a statement. “Steve was integral to starting the local chapter of the Human Rights Campaign and has shared his unending energy, strong passion for justice and gracious leadership with the Columbus AIDS Task Force (now Equitas Health) and Stonewall Columbus.”

Nominees for the 2022 award must live in Central Ohio and cannot be a prior recipient of the Shellabarger Illuminator Award.

Past recipients:

  • 2016: Steve Shellabarger
  • 2017: Linda Schuler and Gloria McCauley
  • 2018: John Sherman Lathram-Brungs and Scott Schopper 
  • 2019: Nina West/Andrew Levitt
  • 2020:  Letha Pugh
  • 2021:  Erin Upchurch

Ignite Action:

About Author

The Buckeye Flame amplifies the voices of LGBTQ+ Ohioans to support community and civic empowerment through the creation of engaging content that chronicles our triumphs, struggles, and lived experiences.

Share this piece.

Leave a Reply