Thursday, December 8

8 of 12 Ohio Republicans voted against the Respect for Marriage Act; all Ohio Democrats voted YEA

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The United States House of Representatives passed the Respect for Marriage Act in a vote of 267 to 157 on Tuesday.

The bill codifies same-sex marriage nationwide In the wake of comments by Justice Clarence Thomas questioning the legal legitimacy of marriage equality in the Court’s ruling overturning Roe v. Wade last month.

Additionally, the bill officially repeals the Defense of Marriage Act, a 1996 piece of legislation that restricted marriage as a union between a woman and a man.

All four Ohio House Democrats voted for the bill.

They were joined by four of their 12 Ohio Republican House colleagues: Reps. Mike Carey of Columbus, Anthony Gonzalez of Rocky River, Dave Joyce of Chagrin Falls, and Mike Turner of Dayton.

In a floor speech that has gained widespread attention, Ohio Rep. Jim Jordan condemned the bill and then complained that the Supreme Court’s decision on Obergefell v. Hodgesundid what 35 states have on their law.” 

Though Obergefell made the language unconstitutional, Ohio still maintains language on the books that restricts marriage as something that “may only be entered into by one man and one woman.”

The roll-call of yesterday’s House vote on the Respect for Marriage Act was as follows:


The bill now heads to the United States Senate where it faces an uphill battle, requiring at least 10 Republicans to vote with Democrats to bypass a filibuster. 🔥

Ignite Action:

About Author

The Buckeye Flame amplifies the voices of LGBTQ+ Ohioans to support community and civic empowerment through the creation of engaging content that chronicles our triumphs, struggles, and lived experiences.

Share this piece.

Leave a Reply