Thursday, December 8

Ohio’s LGBTQ+ candidates went 2-4 in the 2022 midterms

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

On November 8, millions of Ohioans exercised their right to vote in the 2022 midterm elections.

Although there were historic wins for LGBTQ+ candidates across the country — First out lesbian governor! And then a second one! First out trans state legislator! First out LGBTQ+ immigrant in Congress! — Ohio’s slate of candidates struggled to notch wins.

Two LGBTQ+ candidates won their races, while 4 were bested by their opponents. 

Here’s how Ohio’s LGBTQ+ candidates fared:

  • Nickie J. Antonio – Ohio State Senator, District 23 – Antonio, who made history as Ohio’s first out LGBTQ+ Senator, won re-election, defeating Republican challenger Landry Simmons Jr.
  • Lynn Gorman – Ohio State Senator, District 29 – After failing to acquire enough signatures to make the ballot, 70-year-old LGBTQ+ activist Lynn Gorman ran to represent District 89 in the Ohio House of Representatives Gorman lost to Republican incumbent Kirk Schuring, who otherwise would have run unopposed.
  • Matt Kilboy – U.S. House of Representatives, 14th Congressional District A Navy veteran and registered nurse, Kilboy lost the congressional race to Republican incumbent David Joyce.
  • Jim Obergefell – Ohio House of Representatives, District 89 – Obergefell, who was lead plaintiff in the supreme court case the legalized same-sex marriage, ran for a seat in the Ohio House of Representatives. Obergefell lost the race to conservative incumbent D.J. Swearingen.
  • Taylor Sappington – Ohio State Auditor – Currently serving as City Auditor in Nelsonville, Ohio, Sappington ran for Ohio State Auditor on a Democratic platform rooted in accountability. Sappington lost the race to incumbent Republican candidate Keith Faber
  • Mary Wiseman – Montgomery County Court of Common Pleas – Appointed by former Ohio governor Ted Strickland, Wiseman became Ohio’s first out LGBTQ+ judge. Wiseman won, running opposed.

Meanwhile, the Republican architects of Ohio’s anti-LGBTQ+ bills currently on the statehouse floor all won decisively: Sarah Carruthers (67%), Gary Click (66%), Mike Loychik (66%), Jena Powell (uncontested), Jean Schmidt (64%), and D.J. Swearingen (62%)

Overall, Ohio Republicans look to have picked up one Senate seat and at least two House seats, and possibly up to four when the provisional ballots are all counted.  🔥

About Author

H.L. Comeriato is the staff writer for The Buckeye Flame. A queer and non-binary writer and reporter from Akron, Ohio, they covered public health for The Devil Strip via Report for America.

Share this piece.

Leave a Reply